Our Team


SEVA is governed by a Committee of Management (COM) who are responsible for ensuring that the organisation meets expectations and operates in accordance with the law by providing strategic direction and financial and policy approval.

Following are the current SEVA Committee of Management (COM) members:

Mrs Sumati Advani – President

Sumati is a long term champion of community issues within the Australian South Asian community and has successfully delivered several community projects for SEVA with funding support from Multicultural NSW, Department of Social Services, Parramatta Council and Northern Beaches Council.

Sumati is a White Ribbon Advocate. In 2017, Sumati was awarded the prestigious Local Woman of the Year Award for Strathfield which was presented to her at the NSW Government’s International Women’s Day function held at the International Convention Centre at Darling Harbour in March 2017.

Sumati migrated to Australia 38 years ago. Sumati holds a Master’s Degree in Transport Economics (Macquarie University) and is a qualified Project Manager. In her personal life, she is the Director of SGA Management Consulting Services Pty Ltd which provides project management support for major rail infrastructure projects.

In December 2018, Sumati was appointed to the Board of Directors for Macquarie Community College.

Mrs Sapna Lazarus – Vice President

Dr Sumitra Iyengar – Secretary

Mr Narayanan Sampath – Treasurer

Mr P S Ramakrishnan – Public Officer